With more people than ever turning toward gluten-free and vegetarian diets, you may be wondering which restaurants provide these healthy options. While some people are trying to eat healthier, others have food allergies or sensitivities that limit their dietary choices. Regardless of the reason, everyone should have the opportunity to spend time with their friends and family while eating a healthy and delicious meal at their favorite restaurant. To help you learn more about this new food trend, McCray’s Tavern is here to teach you about some of our favorite gluten-free and vegetarian menu items.

 

What exactly is gluten?

While it seems like gluten can be found in nearly every meal, most people still don’t fully understand what gluten is. For those that don’t know, gluten is the protein found in various grains like wheat, barley, rye, and oats. On its own, gluten isn’t bad for your body, and it even helps certain foods maintain their shape. However, some people can’t tolerate gluten due to a condition known as celiac disease, which can cause various symptoms including skin rashes, fatigue, digestive problems, and more. For some, changing to a gluten-free diet is necessary to avoid the symptoms of celiac disease.

vegetarian menu
What kinds of foods can gluten-free people eat?

While many foods contain gluten, there are still plenty of options for people on a gluten-free diet. Some common ingredients like fruits, vegetables, protein, oils, nuts, seeds, and more. There are also several grain substitutes, such as almond flour, rice, quinoa, and more, which provide healthy options for gluten-free eaters. At McCray’s Tavern, we’re proud to offer delicious gluten-free options like our champagne summer salad, cajun shrimp & grits, and pan-roasted Scottish salmon.

 

What kinds of food can vegetarians eat?

While vegetarians don’t eat any meat, they still have a world of food options available to them. They also receive protein from different sources including lentils, beans, and tofu. Vegetarians also eat a wide variety of fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and grains. While many people think vegetarians only eat fruits and vegetables, they actually eat a wide variety of delicious meals that look and taste similar to popular foods. At McCray’s Tavern, some of our most popular vegetarian options include our pimento cheese fritters, tavern salad, and tony rigatoni pasta.

 

Do taverns offer gluten-free or vegetarian items?

When eating out at a tavern, it’s still entirely possible to adhere to a gluten-free or vegetarian diet. In fact, many taverns highlight their delicious gluten-free and vegetarian options. For vegetarians, many meals are already prepared without meat, and many taverns will make small changes to the meal to fit your dietary restrictions. For diners on a gluten-free diet, most taverns include gluten-free symbols next to suitable meals. You can also ask for small changes to your meals, such as removing the bun from a burger. If you have any questions about certain meals, you can also ask a waiter if the meal contains meat or gluten.

At McCray’s Tavern Midtown location, we offer numerous gluten-free and vegetarian options for our diners. We believe that everyone deserves delicious food, regardless of their dietary needs or preferences. That’s why we offer creatively prepared dishes that can be enjoyed at our beautiful tavern. To find your new favorite meal, come visit McCray’s Tavern in Midtown today.